Pictured above left: A fixed-wing microlight; and above right: a flex-wing microlight

11.05.21 The Master Sarah Jane Adams-Diffey

Coachmakers’ 344th birthday fundraising competition

Pictured above left: A fixed-wing microlight; and above right: a flex-wing microlight

To celebrate the Coachmakers receiving its Royal Charter, on 31st May 1677

Win a unique flight of your choice, for one person, in either a two-seat fixed wing microlight or a two seat flex wing microlight with past world champion, Liveryman Christopher Saysell.

There are no specific limitations although max passenger weight is 110kg, as well as any Government restrictions and weather.

The flight will take off from St Albans, Hertfordshire and can be varied to the individual’s preference and aircraft chosen.

Your choice of:

  • A flight to the Isle of Wight (approx 70 mins each way, no passport required!) + lunch
  • A trip north to historic Sywell Aerodrome (approx 40 mins each way) + lunch
  • A shorter trip to another historic airfield, White Waltham (approx 25 mins each way) + lunch
  • Alternatively for those who don’t want to fly anywhere, an air experience flight around St Albans is also fun.

The above two pictures are an example of the aircraft differences. Christopher in the flex wing at 10,000ft in June over the Alps flying back from Turin having taken the gold medal at the 2009 World Air Games Pylon Racing competition. And in the fixed wing, Christopher with his wife Naomi, upon landing.

In terms of competitions, Christopher and his co-pilot were British National Two-Seat Flex Wing Champions for a number of years and as part of the British microlight team. He has flown in a number of European and World Championships and holds five FAI gold medals (two world, two European and one World Air Games) and two silvers.

With his other British team members they have also been awarded the prestigious Britannia Trophy twice (2001 and 2015) This trophy is presented by the Royal Aero Club, for: “Aviators accomplishing the most meritorious performance in aviation during the previous year”. Past winners include in 1919 Capt. Sir John Alcock for the first trans-Atlantic crossing, The Red Arrows, Per Lindstrand and then Richard Branson in 1987 for the first trans-Atlantic crossing by hot air balloon.

Competition rules: Phone the Master Coachmaker, Sarah Jane Adams-Diffey, on Monday 31st May 2021 on 07734 101427 between 9am and 11am and bid more than £344. The highest bid wins. The lucky winner will be notified on Tuesday 1st June 2021. Flight date and time to be organised directly with Christopher Saysell. Government and weather restrictions apply. Flight to be taken this year.