Coachlines - February 2024

28.02.24 Assistant Giles Taylor

Automotive bursary winners 2024 announced

Each year, the Automotive Charity Sub-Committee, led by Assistant Giles Taylor, awards two bursaries to talented young design students studying at the Royal College of Art in London, and Coventry University. Both the RCA and Coventry offer courses in automotive design at Bachelor’s and Master’s level with worldwide design reputations – many of today’s well known car brand designers and directors have passed through their courses in years previous.

The Coachmakers is able to offer substantial awards in support of outstanding design talent that we believe is destined to make a positive contribution to the UK design industry in the years ahead.

Earlier this month, the judging committee gathered at the RCA in Battersea and was delighted to be joined by The Master for what proved to be a fascinating morning of student design presentations. Projects ranging from a two-wheel EV city taxi to a lunar rover concept kept the assembled committee of industry experts deep in conversation, probing the future scenarios for these exciting yet intelligent automotive visions.

Cedrik’s London taxi design project

The winner of the Motor Centenary Bursary Award was RCA Master of Design student Cedrik Lapointe whose concept for a London taxi stood out as being well conceived. RCA MDes Runners-up Charley Orr and Pavithra Mahendra Kumar also received awards to help towards their final year projects. All three students will graduate early in 2025.

The joint winners of the Sir William Lyons Automotive Design Award were Laszlo Czismadia and Jaeun Park, both Bachelor of Design second year students from Coventry University.

All five students will attend the annual Automotive Dinner on 21st March and will receive their highly valued Coachmaker bursary award certificates from The Master during the evening.

A detailed lunar rover designed by one of our bursary entrants